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CHAPTER 6 Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century Understanding media costs

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Page 1: Mp+ +b +chapter+6

Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

CHAPTER 6

Understanding media costs

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Understanding Media Costs

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Media Costs

Audience

Cost

Impact

Media Selection Criteria

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Agenda

Cost is no expenseUnit pricesMedia cost efficiencyTelevisionRadioMagazinesNewspapersInternet

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Cost is No Expense

Price What sellers ask for their inventory Verbal or on rate card

Cost What buyers pay sellers for time or space Typically negotiated with seller May be less than seller’s initial price

Expense Dollars spent to achieve an objective

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

What is a media unit worth?

Unit Prices All media have unit prices-- a :30 in NCIS or a four

color page in Tennis Magazine However, without more information, we don’t know if a

$10,000 per unit asking price is high or low What’s the size of audience? The right audience?

Cost Efficiency – a better measure of price Two measures of media cost efficiency

CPM - What is the cost per 1000 impressions in a media vehicle?

CPP - What is the cost per rating point? How does it compare to other programs or stations?

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Cost per Thousand (CPM)

Cost per thousand (CPM) is a rudimentary measure of media value received per dollar-- based on audience and cost.

Media people believe that the cost of audience is an important purchasing criterion.

CPM = Cost/Audience x 1000

Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 25,000 persons, the CPM is $66.67:

$10,000/25,000 x 1000 = $66.67

Now compare this CPM to the other media options!

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Cost per Point (CPP)

Cost per point (CPP) is a second measure of media efficiency, i.e., “what does it cost to reach 1% of a target market in a geographic area?”

Spot buyers use CPP to cost out plans and to compare the efficiency of alternative programs and buys

CPP = Cost/TRPS

Example: If the price of an ad is $10,000 and it reaches 10% of the target audience, the CPP is $1000

$10,000/10 = $1000

Now compare this CPP to your other options in the same geographic area!

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

TRPS vs. CPM

Will a bag ofCPMs work?

Captain, marketingneed s an

infusion ofTRPS

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Are CPM and CPP Interchangeable?

Yes and No Yes, if the audience base is in exactly the same

area. e.g., metro area, DMA No, if using total survey audience for CPM vs.

DMA audience for CPP

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Comparison of Media Efficiencies

MediaVehicle

Price of Ad Unit

Audience(Adults) CPM

CPMRank

A $187,000 10,841,000 $17.25 5

B 267,000 44,707,000 5.97 2

C 94,000 8,436,000 11.14 4

D 165,000 16,429,000 10.04 3

E 90,000 22,206,000 4.06 1

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Television Pricing/Costs

Television prices are affected by many variables Geographic coverage area Commercial length (e.g.,:60 vs. :30 vs. :15) Day part/Time of Day Audience size Individual programs Supply & demand conditions

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Example of Television Costs

Program

NetworkCost/:30

(000)A25-54Rating CPP

60 Minutes CBS $92.2 9.0 $10,244

Glee FOX 272.7 5.1 53,470

College Ftbl

ABC 92.2 3.5 26,340

NCIS CBS 150.7 5.5 27,400

Idol FOX 400.0 12.0 33,333

Lie to Me FOX 100.8 2.0 50,400

2011 Network Upfront

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Radio Pricing/Costs

Radio costs are affected by similar factors Geographic coverage area Commercial length Daypart Station Size of audience Supply & Demand Conditions

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Example of Radio Costs

MSAs % US HHCPP

A25-54CPP

M25-54CPP

W25-54

Top 10 26 $4600 4400 5500

Top 20 35 6600 5450 6200

Top 40 47 8600 8850 10,100

Top 60 54 11100 10600 11900

Top 80 59 12300 11400 13000

Top 100 62 13000 12200 14000

Top 200 72 16200 15200 17700

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Magazine Pricing

Magazine ad pricing Creative unit – single page vs. spread Size of ad – Full page, spread, fractional page Bleed – Color to edge of page Geographic or demographic edition Circulation rate base Size of audience What the market will bear (publishers)

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Examples of Magazine Prices

Magazine Circulation Cost P4C CPM Circ.CPM Adults

Entre-preneur

618,000 $84,000 $136.00 $37.53

Forbes 937,000 115,000 123.00 20.91

Fortune 877,000 119,000 136.00 29.62

Inc. 721,000 74,000 103.00 50.51

Black Enterprise

507,000 42,000 83.00 10.80

U.S. News 1,486,000 90,000 61.00 8.04

Time 3,445,000 288,000 84.00 14.26

Newsweek 2,523,000 165,000 65.00 10.06

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Newspaper Pricing

Newspaper rate cards - extremely complex National vs. local rate differential (often 100%+) Product category discounts, e.g., auto dealers Rate differentials by sections Classifieds and classified display Supplements, e.g., a TV Guide or a Home Living

section – different rates

Prices extremely high for national advertiser CPM Circulation

Daily Newspapers (PB/W) $150-1000Magazines (P4C) 65 - 135

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Examples of Newspaper PricingNational Rates

NewspaperFull Page

B/W Circulation

CPM

Wall Street Journal 223,000 1,722,000 130.00

USA Today 120,000 1,900,000 63.00

New York Times (M-F)

142,000 928,000 153.00

LA Times 155,000 658000 236.00

Chicago Tribune 121,000 466.000 260.00

St. Louis Post Dispatch

204,000 214,000 953.00

Charlotte Observor 54,000 168,000 321.00

Hartford Courant 62,000 144,000 360.00

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Media Planning & Buying in the 21st Century

Internet Pricing Models

Three Pricing Models CPM Impressions

Example: 100,000 impressions x $5.00 CPM = $500.00 Suggestion: estimate cost per click based on CTR

history

CPC/PPC – Cost per click/pay per click Cost per click a function of bid and budget Example: 10,000 clicks x $.75 CPC = $7500

CPA – Cost per Action (Purchase, inquiry, etc.) Some sellers offer CPA as alternative to CPC Example: 1000 conversions x $10 CPA = 10,000