hvordan beregne avkastningen på din content marketing? her er 10 formler!
TRANSCRIPT
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Content FormulaCalculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
Do stuff that matters
Make an impact!
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What’s The ROI ofContent Marketing?
Calculation OR Defense Mechanism
“
”
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that grows over time.
Need proof . . .
MARKETING INSIDER GROUPSep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150
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COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING #
Art
icle
s
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view
s
Marketing Has A Marketing Problem
@BrennerMichael
What is the ROI?
@BrennerMichael @LizBedor
The First Banner Ad (1994)
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Less likely to click on a banner than…
@BrennerMichael
Content marketing trends
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world
are the ones who do.
”
“
Steve Jobs@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Art of Pushing Back
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing Requires Empathy
ContentMarketing
What Brands Publish
WhatCustomers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUPhttp://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing is EASY!
“The Buyer Journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.”
~ IDC
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to primary channel
Distribute content to earned media
Distribute content to paid media
Measure ROI of content marketing
Optimize and target distribution
Optimize for subscriptions & offers
“The Buyer Journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.”
~ IDC
Documented content marketing strategy
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
WARNING!
Math ahead! @BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART ONE
/ Build The Business Case
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
1
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Do You Sell Empathy To
Executives Who Don’t Have Any?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Reach early stage buyers
Engage new buyers with your
brand
Conversions you would have never
reached
= $
Build The Business Case
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
2011: SAP launches major new product
Marketing Budgets
Marketing Contribution
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.)
Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715
Tried To Push Back With Data
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Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
16800045000
48000
3400 228
Digital Share of Voice
– Brand OnlyComp #1Comp #4Comp #5
25
18
15
23
20
Market Share
Comp #1Comp #4Comp #5Comp #2Client #3
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Late-Stage Content
66%Early-Stage Content
6%
Middle-Stage Content
28%
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
BUT: We had no budget
Engagement?99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?$200,000
Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO
Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?70%
How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%
Conversions?~1,000 in year 1
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP4/8/12
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0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Traffic from Organic, Social & Referrals
Organic Social SAP Owned Referrals
Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Reach, Engagement and Conversions We Would Have Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search / Social Volum
e
What is Content Marketing?(10-3000 X)
How do I succeed with Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help me with
content marketing?
(1)
How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Is There?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
CONTENT MARKETING
Your DestinationBlogsNews InfographicsSocial Content
VideoWhitepapersWebinarsEventsNewsletters How-To GuidesCustomer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product contentOffers
BrochuresCustomer Testimonials
Case studiesAds
CONSIDERATION
AWARENESS
DECISION
Reach, Engage and Convert Buyers You We Would Have Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART TWO
/ Find The Budget
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
2
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Marketers Buy Tactics
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Used30%
Content Not Used70%
Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?
30%70%
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The average click-through rate of display ads is 0.1%. (DoubleClick)
.1%8% Only 8% of internet users account for 85% of
clicks on display ads (and some aren’t even humans!)(comScore)
50%About 50% of clicks on mobile ads are accidental(GoldSpot)
Reallocate Budget From Low Performing Marketing Programs (Advertising?)
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low to High
=$@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors10,000 Subscribers1,000 Leads
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
Re-Purpose•Executive PowerPoints
•Whitepapers
•Customer Service and Sales FAQs
•Your emails = answers
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
OPP (OPC)•Act as a journalists at events
•Cover competitor and industry research
•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Create Stuff Easy
• Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry
• Extract the expertise inside your company• What is…• Why important...• How to achieve success with ...
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Keywordtooldominator.comUbersuggest.ioKeywordtool.io
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART THREE
/ MeasureResults
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
3
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Do You Sell Empathy To
Executives Who Don’t Have Any?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Organic Search Share of Voice
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The Business Value of Content Marketing
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness
The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
The Value of Unbranded Search Traffic = (Paid Search CPC X Unbranded Search Traffic)
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness
The Value of Organic Search = ($2 X 500,000) = $1 Million
The Value of Unbranded Search Traffic = ($2 X 420,000) = $840,000
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Lyly Lepinay – Former Group Digital Content Marketing Manager, Capgemini
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
CapGemini Content-Loop.com• LinkedIn Sponsored updates
• Drives to branded Content Hub
• Offers to deeper content
• Recommendations to connect with experts
Results:~1M visitors / year+ 3K new LinkedIn followers per week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales / ROI
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
@BrennerMichael
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines
national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
Casper’s Van Winkles
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Organic Search Share of Voice
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
The Power of Subscriptions
@BrennerMichael
Subscribers are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
Content Marketing Direct $ales
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000$540,000
Content Marketing Direct $ales3 e-store visits / week x $400 x 52 = $21,000
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - Retention
The Value of Retention= Lifetime Value Content Customer vs. Non-Content Customers
Retention Rate vs. Non-Content Customers
Revenue per Content Customer vs. Non-Content Customers
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Lifetime Value:Content consumers spend more and are more loyal customers.
Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
MARKETING INSIDER GROUPShow me the money!
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI$100,000 saved in advertising landing page costs$1 Million in search traffic$250,000 in email list growth$540,000 in lead conversion to sales$21,000 in direct e-store sales?? Click to call / chat-------------$1,911,000 in Value /Investment= $100,000
19X ROI
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
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MARKETING INSIDER GROUPBUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Thank you!Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael